The honeysuckle hedge

On these summer days, even the wet ones, one of my daily joys comes as I hit the first slope and enter a world of heady fragrance, the unmistakeable scent of honeysuckle in full bloom.

Even when it’s wet, I only have to move closer to an individual bloom to inhale the wonderful perfume.

It reminds me to live in the moment. I can only smell the honeysuckle at this point on my journey. There isn’t any more elsewhere. I can choose to enjoy it at that moment, or march past and ignore what is there for my blessing.

The same with the eucalyptus further up the road, or the flowers in a garden, or a bird crossing my path.

In the same way I can only encounter God at this precise moment, or choose to do life without him.

Living each moment with God is an available option to everyone but I so rarely choose to avail myself of this gracious offer to be with him!

The still small voice that tells us ‘I am with you… Will you be with me?’ I’m becoming more aware of the offer, and more baffled as to why I don’t choose it more, and I’m taking that as progress.

Leave a comment